This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Blessings of a Teacher

Years ago, my Rabbi advised his teachers, (I was among them), “years from now, the children may not remember the subject you teach, but they’ll always remember the way you taught them.” Whether we smiled or scolded, were enthusiastic or annoyed, attentive or dismissive. And I told two students yesterday: “I know you are doing the best you can, and that there is so much going on that I cannot see..” “You have no idea how stressful my life is right now”, he said, “I am sorry that I have fallen behind in my work, I am really interested in this stuff.”  “I know. Just do the best you can. Let me know if I can help.” In the rush to do my jobs, to get the responsibilities off my back, I always try to stop, to encourage, smile, show a little love to them all.  Avram and Sarai in the Torah plunge into the unknown, escaping from what’s bogus. Ironically, though in search of truth, Avram will lie: “she is my sister”. In search of a home, they will be homeless for a long time. In search of God, God will predict “it is you that shall BE a blessing” My blessing: Baruch Atah: Holy One, source of being and blessings, thank you for the students in my life and the chance to teach them. They are the best blessings of all.

300px-kanizsa-triangle.svg-tm

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

