This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

This Friday evening and Saturday is called “Shabbat Shirah”, the Sabbath of Song, because the Biblical Song of Freedom and redemption at the shores of the Sea are chanted. Only song will do. Here is a living room recording  on Soundcloud of the my song-experience of that moment. Trapped, death all around, the only way out is heavenwards. (This song originated in this blog two weeks ago, but has changed)

Ozi: Every Beat of my Heart

M. Wolfson For Shabbat Shirah 5774

Return and return and return,  waves whisper upon the sand

Light flashes, scatters off iron, and horses and warrior men

I am caught between that wave and an impossible  land,

Moses, our hearts reach out to you.  Don’t be afraid he cries, “Lo Tira-u!”

Chorus

And the fear and the awe  in me crash, freezing space and time

I lift my eyes to the heavens so blue: there find hope, so sublime

Open to possibilities, inspiring Truth in my mind

If ev’ry beat of my heart is a miracle, why not here and now?

Ozi v’zimrat Yah:

Soon the wind starts to roar; takes my breath away, bringing tears to my eyes,

Holding my little ones close, praying: hear their cries

The Calvary horses all stomp,  the whites of their eyes mesmerize

And the force of the wind pushes water off sand, in surprise

Going home, I am free !  Ozi  v’zimrat Yah Ozi

BRIDGE: If You are my song I am strong; The melody, sets me free, strengthens me, ozi v’zimrat Yah Ozi!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

